Day 11-Zuchinni Spaghetti in Chicken Meatballs


IMG_20160310_164619-2

Is our tongue foolish? Or do our eyes control the taste? Is re creating dishes which look like the famous versions of themselves satiate us just by looking at it? At the end of the day does our tongue just want textures and colors?

Past few days have been full of colorful different food for me…i am making food which I don’t usually eat…i spend anywhere between 15-30 minutes in creating my lunch…And probably 2-3 hours brainstorming on what to cook tomorrow…My current schedule lets me do this..But I wonder if this is not your sole focus how this diet would go…

If you are eating outside your house in India you totally can forget about whole30…Do not even try explaining it to your relatives at dinner or worst yet ask the server at a restaurant if they have anything without dairy, legume, wheat and sugar!! Food in India centers around 3 whole30 “Don’ts”…grains, dairy and legumes. Any meal would be incomplete without these three food groups. Indians worship dairy and legumes and think it’s the best thing that has happened to mankind! I remember drinking almost a liter of milk growing up everyday…its difficult for us to move away from cultural fixations.

Every day I feel like I should stop this diet…Atleast twice..and every day I see positive changes in myself!! I have come to a stage where I am taking selfies in the full length mirror of the lift!! My friends say that my skin has cleared…In fact my skin always tended to be oily but now when I wash it with my usual oily skin facewash my face remains dry for hours!! They also see a visible difference in my body…I seem to have shrunk a bit(modesty!)

On day 11 I recreated spaghetti in meatballs. The sauce is pretty basic and doesn’t require too much work or cooking…This recipe creates 6-8 chicken meatballs which can be frozen for use later. These can also be eaten as snacks.

Zucchini Spaghetti in Chicken Meatballs

IMG_20160310_165159-2.jpg

  • Zucchini juliennes or noodles-1 cup
  • One onion
  • One tomato
  • Garlic-2 cloves
  • Almond Milk-2 tbsp (Normal milk if not on whole30)
  • Salt to taste
  • Mixed herbs
  • Clarified Butter or Ghee-2 tbsp (divided)

Meatballs

  • Chicken Thighs (boneless)-2
  • Onion-half
  • Cumin-1/4 tsp
  • Garlic-2 cloves
  • Chili flakes
  • Egg-1 small (or half)
  • Parsley-Chopped
  • Salt to taste

RECIPE

  1. Grind the Chicken thighs in a blender(or buy chicken Keema)
  2. Combine all the chicken and all the other ingredients for meatball.
  3. Using your hands make small balls out of the chicken mash
  4. Grease an oven proof pan and place the balls in the dish.
  5. Brush the meatballs with Ghee or one drop of Ghee on each meatball.
  6. Bake for 20 minutes at 180 degrees. Adjust the time based on how brown you want the chicken balls to be.
  7. For the Sauce-Heat rest of clarified butter in a pan. Add onions and Garlic. Soften till translucent.
  8. Add the chopped tomato, herbs and Almond milk. Cook till the tomato softens. Sauce is ready.
  9. Combine the sauce the zucchini noodles. Zucchini noodles can be cooked in the sauce for exactly 10 seconds or you can eat them raw. Place the meatballs on top and enjoy!

 

 

 

Whole30 quote “it’s not hard.dont you dare tell us this is hard.Quitting heroin is hard..Beating cancer is hard…Drinking your coffee black .IS .NOT.HARD”

Leave a Reply

