Day 6,7,8 -Eggs Baked in Tomato Sauce, Mutton Keema with Cauliflower Pulav


Whole302 (2)

I just want one day off this diet…just have something normal with carbs…some rice with the chicken curry maybe..or some roti or little bit of the bread or even dal..That’s all…

Day 6, 7 and 8 have been very difficult…started with my cook making rotis when I was awake for a change and that just pushed me almost over the edge..It’s sort of what happens to my dog Milo…He stays with my parents back home…He is almost my soul brother..But a dog…when my mom is making rotis in the house he goes mental…which is about twice a day…you can’t not give him the roti…Once he smells the fresh rotis being made…he can’t control himself..He goes from salivating to light cooing to howling to crying to finally to barking and bringing the house down…I am almost there myself…i think I am at the crying stage at this point..

We visited the very famous Windsor Pub in Bangalore and I obviously couldn’t have anything except the grill chicken…Which by the way came with an amazing looking mushroom gravy, perfectly done garlic bread and veggies sautéed in butter…The garlic bread was howling in agony for me..But I couldn’t have it! Phew!!

Weekends are definitely not for this diet!! Especially if you have an active social life!! Today I got up late…and couldn’t fix a lunch for myself on time and ended up eating only the potatoes from the chicken curry that I was making before rushing for the movie Deadpool!!It was a horrendous experience!! The movie in itself is amazing but the cheese popcorn was driving me crazy!! I almost called the friend who introduced me to this diet to blast the shit out of him! But I got a little distracted by forever21..: D

Now for the food…We went for a house party and I decided to make my own snacks…I obviously cant be the only one eating so I made 4 starters…Kerela Squid Masala, Sausages in Sriracha sauce, Baby potatoes in pizza seasoning and Chicken Masala..I usually serve this with a yoghurt dip which is the most amazing and the easiest dip you can ever make! I will post the recipes of these starters in the following days…

One of my breakfasts were the eggs in tomato sauce…The tomato sauce was left over from the Zucchini pasta…And my special lunch was the Mutton Keema Biryani…I made two versions of this…the Whole30 approved version was with the cauliflower and the tummy happy version was with Basmati rice for my husband..

 

Eggs Baked in Tomato Sauce

IMG_20160305_102420

INGRIDIENTS

-Left over Tomato Sauce

-Eggs

RECIEPE

  1. The Tomato sauce can be made from the recipe listed in the <>
  2. In a ramekin add two spoonfuls of tomato sauce
  3. Break an egg over this and bake at 180 degrees for 10-15 minutes…Depending on how runny you like your egg. I baked mine for extra 5 minutes because I don’t like mine runny.

 

Careful of the hot ramekin and enjoy a Sunny breakfast!!

 

Mutton Keema

INGREDIENTS

  • Mutton-300 Gms
  • Onion-2 chopped
  • Garlic-1 thumb
  • Ginger-2 cloves
  • Potatoes-2-Diced
  • Tomato-2
  • Curd-4 tbsp (skip if doing whole30)
  • Salt to Taste
  • Oil-1 Tbsp
  • Jeera (Cumin)-1 tsp
  • Chillies-1-2 green chilies
  • Red Chili Powder
  • Coriander Powder-1 tbsp
  • Kerala Garam Masala-1/2 tbsp (Substitute with regular Garam Masala)

KERELA GARAM MASALA

  • Black Peppercorns-1 tbsp
  • Mustard Seeds-1tbsp
  • Cumin-1 tbsp
  • Fenugreek-1/2 tbsp
  • Poppy Seed – 1tbsp
  • Cloves – 10
  • Cardamom – 4
  • Cinnamon stick – 2 pieces of 1” inch length each
  • Star Anise – 1
  • Fennel seeds – 1 tbsp

RECIPE

  1. Use a deep Pot for this recipe. Heat the oil in the pan on a high flame.
  2. Add the Jeera (Cumin).Once it crackles add the green chilies, garlic and ginger. Fry in the oil for 10 seconds.
  3. Add the onions and fry them in the oil till the onion becomes light brown. Add the Coriander powder, Kerala Garam Masala and red chilies to the onions. Roast for about 5 seconds. Anymore will burn the Masala.
  4. Add the curd spoon by spoon and heat till the curd mixes well with the Masala and oil separates. Takes about 10 minutes.
  5. Add the tomatoes and keep heating for another 10-15 minutes till the tomatoes disintegrate in the curry.
  6. Add the Mutton Keema and potatoes now to the curry with half cup of water. Add Salt to taste.
  7. Simmer on the open Pot for 10 minutes. At this point transfer to a cooker and cook for 3 whistles. Alternatively cook the mutton for 30 minutes on low flame in a covered pan.

The Keema can be layered with Basmati rice to make the Mutton Keema Biryani. If you are on whole30 eat with cauliflower rice. The left over Keema can be frozen for later use.

 

Cauliflower Pulav

INGRIDIENTS

  • Cauliflower-1 cup-Shredded (grated)
  • Oil
  • salt to taste
  • Jeera-1/2 tbsp
  • Onion-1 chopped
  • Turmeric-1/2 tbsp
  • Garam Masala-1/2 tbsp

RECIPE

  1. Add oil in a pan. Add Jeera and heat till it crackles. Add onions and roast till onions are translucent.
  2. Add the Cauliflower, Turmeric, Garam Masala and salt. Combine all together and cook for 10 minutes.

 

Garnish with Coriander and Serve hot.

 

Whole30 quote “it’s not hard.dont you dare tell us this is hard.Quitting heroin is hard..Beating cancer is hard..Drinking your coffee black .IS .NOT.HARD”

 

 

Leave a Reply

