Prawn Stir Fry with Steamed Rice


My new discovery is Chinese food(ok my new focus)…I have never experimented with Chinese flavors and I think it’s time I start. Now there are two kinds of Chinese cuisines…the Indian Chinese..: D and the actual Chinese….i louuuu Indian Chinese…and my husband loves Chinese Chinese….he is a frequent visitor to china and he just kills it with the variety of food he has there…so i pretty much want to experiment in both these spaces.

i used to be pretty fascinated with chop sticks in my junior college…i used to have even maggi with chop sticks..though i have lost significant practice i am still pretty good…by pretty good i mean i can transport food from the bowl to my mouth without dropping..now how much food really reaches my mouth is another question all together ..but the fact is that i am trying here!!:D

I am pretty new at this as you would have gathered and hence I don’t trust what I have made to be actual Chinese or the right flavors I would request you guys to please give in inputs on what went wrong and what went right in this recipe…

Also I like red tangy sauces more. Though I haven’t been able to find out how to make it excalty.so that’s another request…some inputs on how to get Chinese right would be extremely welcome!!

Ingredients

Lemon grass-few sprigs

Onions-2 small

Garlic-one tea spoon

Capsicums-2

Mushroom-250 Gms

Prawns-250 Gms

Hoisin sauce-half a cup

Soy sauce-2 table spoons

Chilli flakes-one teaspoon

Salt to taste

Tomato puree-100 Gms

  1. Heat oil in a wok, add chopped onions and garlic. Let is fry for a minute(do not let it become light pink or golden brown.as someone said you just have to scare the veggies with the heat not really cook them)
  2. Add chopped mushrooms and capsicum and sauté
  3. Add the sauces(hoisin sauce,soy sauce and tomato puree)
  4. Add prawns and cook till tender and juicy
  5. Season it with salt and chilli flakes
  6. Garnish with a little lemon grass
  7. Serve hot with steamed rice

Do let me know how to make other sauces…hopefully the ingredients are available in india…:D

2 thoughts on “Prawn Stir Fry with Steamed Rice

Leave a Reply

