Black Currant Scones


Scones are basically Tea Party food… :)…That’s the only thing  I know about them…never having eaten one myself…at least not consciously so it was quite a challenge to make one…Photographs don’t really tell u how thick they are suppose to be..How light…Their texture…

So when I decided to make them I wasn’t very sure of myself but I still went ahead with them. I made them for a brunch I hosted for my college friends…And as it happens not a piece of it was left!!:D

 I made sweet scones with dried currents in it…and made everybody eat it with the blueberry jam I had…They are quite easy to make and done really require that many ingredients and hence it is going to be one of the regulars at my house..: D…I was so tempted to eat one while writing this entry that i got up half way and decided to try savory scones..: D


Ingredients

1 cup flour

¼ cup dried black currants

2 teaspoon of baking powder

½ teaspoon of salt

2 tablespoon of sugar

2 tablespoon of frozen butter cut into pieces

½ cup cold milk

1 tablespoon milk for glazing

  1. Preheat the oven at 200 degrees.
  2. Combine the dry ingredients
  3. Rub the frozen butter into the dry ingredients till it resembles a coarse meal. Leave some chunks of butter intact for flaky scones.
  4. Add the dry currents now.
  5. Add the cold milk and forms sticky dough. Add more milk if required.
  6. Knead it on a lightly floured surface. To achieve layers on scone give it a number of folds. (Flatten, fold, flatten fold).Take the dough and flatten it to form a disc of a rectangle. Fold like a letter-three folds. Flatten or roll out the dough again and repeat the folding process a number of times.
  7. Cut in desired shape place on a parchment paper on a baking tray. Brush with milk for the golden hue.
  8. Bake for 10 minutes or till the tops are sufficiently brown. Cool in a cooling rack
  9. Serve with jam and butter.

 

Leave a Reply

