Minty Bread Rolls


I saw this delicious looking recipe of pesto bread rolls on Purple Foodie and I was dying to make them! So as soon as I came back home I decided to bunk gym and make them instead .But to my horror my basil was totally ruined and I just couldn’t let go. So I decided to experiment with my filling and make it my way. I used mint leaves, walnuts, olive oil, ginger and garlic with spices and I ground it up into a thick paste.

Funny enough next time I made them I neither had basil nor mint leaves so I decided to use green peppers! So basically you can fill it however you want. Next I am going to try with some salsa filling…

The mint bread rolls came out simply amazing! My hubby gobbled them up in 5 mins flat! For me that’s the greatest achievement and hence this is going to be a fixture at my dinner table!:D

Ingredients

For the Bread:

3 cups flour

½ tbsp dry yeast

¾ cup lukewarm milk

1 tbs salt

2 eggs (one for dough & one for brushing)

2 tbsp sugar

For the filling:

20-30 leaves of mint

4 cloves of garlic

1 inch of ginger

Handful walnuts

2 tbsp oil

  1. Add the yeast to lukewarm milk and keep for 15 minutes till it froths
  2. In the dough maker add the flour, salt ,sugar, milk with yeast and egg
  3. knead for 2 minutes in the processor
  4. Take the dough out and knead it some more with hand
  5. Keep it in a warm place for 2-4 hours(put it in a large bowl and cover it with foil or cling film)
  6. After 2-4 hours it should be double its size, knead it again with your hands and roll it into a 0.5 cm sheet using a rolling pin. I use dry flour so that it doesn’t stick.
  7. Spread two spoonfuls of filling evenly across the disc making sure that the sides are left free.
  8. Roll the disc from one end to another into a cylinder. Using a sharp knife cut it across so as to make smaller cylinders.
  9. Leave the cylinders for 45 min in a warm place to rise again.(Make sure u leave enough space between each as they tend to expand)
  10. Preheat the oven at 180 degrees. Brush the rolls with egg generously(it’s the egg that gives it the brown glaze)
  11. Bake for 15-20 min till the tops become golden brown.

Serve with pasta, soups, and meats or eat as it is.

Leave a Reply

