Free form Pear Frangipane Tart


In her effort to make me eat healthy stuff my mom bought me loads of fruits-both fresh and dry. I was supposed to refrain from the starchy oily snacks and indulge in fruits. I did eat them for the first 5 days. But after a while I couldn’t stick to just eating that when the food court in my office offered amazing chats, parathas and brilliant vadas…

Which meant I had extra fruits left and according to my recent vow to use up all the food in my fridge before going grocery shopping I had to utilise the left over pears in the fridge…they were a little old. Maybe 1 or 2 weeks but seems in perfect condition… Maybe something to do with Bangalore weather or my fridge…I don’t know really but they were pretty much fresh…

The other left over items my fridge were pastry dough and almonds! Well that’s how the frangipane free dimension pear tart came into formation. Just a handful of almonds, sugar and one egg. With two pears sliced…decorate over frangipane and bake away!!

i have become a huggeee fan of left over pastry..somehow it comes out more flaky then the fresh pastry or maybe it was just this once that something magical happens in my fridge!A more detailed recipe is given below…

Pastry dough-10 cm diameter

Almonds-100 gm.

Sugar-100 gm.

Egg-1

Butter-100 gm.

Pears-2(sliced thin)

  1. Prepare the pastry using the recipe given in my blueberry pie post
  2. Roll out the pastry between two butter papers as thin as possible-easy and fuss free…and chill in the freezer till you prepare other ingredients
  3. In a processor grind the almonds and sugar together and add to the melted butter
  4. Add the egg and combine well using a spoon.
  5. Take out the rolled pastry and spread the frangipane paste leaving at least 2-3 cm ring outside(to be able to fold)
  6. Arrange the sliced pear and pinch the sides of the pastry to make a free form low bowl sort of tart.
  7. Bake for 20 minutes at 180 degrees
  8. Take out the tart and cover the middle with a foil and brush butter around the edges on the pastry.
  9. Bake for 10 minutes at 150 degrees.
  10. Your free form frangipane pear tart is ready to be gobbled up!!:D
One thought on “Free form Pear Frangipane Tart

Leave a Reply

